Managing Sendoso Roles and Permissions

  • Created

This article details the differences between Sendoso roles and permissions.  

For additional training on Teams & Users, check out this Sendoso University course!

By default, there are four types of user roles available in Sendoso:

  • Admin
  • Department Admin
  • Manager
  • Sender

A role is defined via two dimensions: scope and permissions

A permission is a specific capability (e.g. ability to manage users), while a scope defines the domain within which a user can exercise this capability (e.g. only manage users within my current team).

Default Role Scopes

RoleScope
AdminOrganization (entire account/instance)
Department AdminDepartment
ManagerTeam
SenderIndividual

 

Note that scope only applies to the following permissions. Any permission not in the below list will give access to the entire account:

  • Manage users
  • Manage departments
  • Manage teams
  • Manage custom roles
  • Assign teams to departments
  • Assign roles to users
  • Reassign users
  • Manage user spending limit
  • Manage templates
  • Manage Campaigns
  • Assign Campaigns
  • Sending assigned Campaigns
  • View Send tracker
  • View analytics

Default Role Permissions

Below are the permissions assigned to default roles:

Permission

Admin

Dept Admin

Manager

Sender

Organization & User Management

 
Manage Users (create / delete / change roles) 
Manage Departments (create / edit / delete)   
Manage Teams (create / edit / delete)  
User Invites: Allow all email domains   
Manage Custom Roles (create / edit / delete)   
Assign teams to departments  
Assign roles to users 
Reassign Users  
Account Balance Management 
Manage Funding Sources (create / edit / delete)  
View Funding Sources 
Manage User Spending Limit  
Assign Funding Sources  
View Activity Feed 
View Invoices and Receipts 
Campaign & Template Permissions 
Manage Templates (create / edit / delete)
Manage Campaigns (create / edit / archive) 
Assign Campaigns 
Integration Management 
Manage Integrations (able to set up integrations and view triggered send approval queue) 
Manage swag stores (create / edit / archive) 
Inventory Management 
View Inventory 
Create Products 
Manage Inventory (add / edit / archive) 
Sending 
Sending assigned Campaigns

Data Access

 
View Send Tracker
View Analytics

 

Changing a User's Role

To change a user’s role, select the Teams link through the menu in the app's top-right corner.

Screenshot 2025-10-07 at 11.12.32 AM.png

Then navigate to the Users tab at the top.

Screen_Shot_2022-05-31_at_10.20.44_AM.png

Search for the user whose role you'd like to change in the search field at the top.

Either select the checkbox to the left of the user's name or click the three dots to the right of that user's role and select Change Role.

In the pop-up window, find the role you'd like to assign this user. Click Select and then Confirm your choice.

Screen_Recording_2022-06-23_at_02.31.13_PM.gif

Changing Multiple Users' Roles

If you have multiple users who need role changes, you can update them simultaneously in bulk. Select the checkbox to the left of each user's name and click Change Role at the bottom of the page.

Screen_Shot_2022-06-23_at_2.15.45_PM.png

You can also change those users' teams or remove those users.

If you are on the Pro or Enterprise subscription plan, you can create custom roles for your users. Click here to learn more.

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful